Thrive After Three

Engaging programs to keep kids coming back to the library

This is Not My Hat

DSC00435

In honor of the 2013 Caldecott winner, I’m doing a puppet story of This is Not My Hat this week! You’ll need just a few puppets and props:

  • fish finger puppet (if you don’t have one on hand, you can make one)
  • fish puppet
  • crab (or lobster) puppet
  • light blue felt to make four hats (two for each fish: one on each side of the head)
  • transparent Velcro tabs (four to put on each side of each fish puppets heads)
  • plant background

seaweed

I tell the story with a lap flannel board covered in the seaweed print. Once the little fish goes behind the board, I drop him in my lap and switch hands of the big fish puppet, making sure to put the blue hat on the transparent Velcro tab I placed on his head.

Fishies

Go fish!

I couldn’t resist going with the Hat theme, so I also used puppets for I Want My Hat Back and Martin’s Hats. For other storytime ideas, check out So Tomorrow’s blog for the Flannel Friday roundup.

3 comments on “This is Not My Hat

  1. Lisa Mulvenna
    February 1, 2013

    Wow, that turned out cute. I like that you mixed the puppets with the felt.

  2. jeninthelibrary
    February 2, 2013

    Those hats on the puppets crack me up!

  3. Rebecca Zarazan Dunn
    February 7, 2013

    What a great idea!! I think I might just have to borrow it in the very near future!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on January 31, 2013 by in Flannel Friday, Getting Dressed Storytime, Hats, Puppet Stories and tagged , , , .

After School Clubs for Kids

I still can't believe I'm a real author!

Flannel Friday

Participate each Friday!